Write One Page Per Day – 110/365 – April 20, 2018

Continued from April 19, 2018

#Writing #Fiction #IndieAuthor


Jeff watched the officer as he put the radio down and got out of his car.

“I checked with dispatch,” he said when he got back to him. “No one was assigned to watch your house. We also didn’t receive any word about a break-in downtown.”

“I don’t understand,” Jeff replied, “I met the police at both my office, and here. Who was I speaking to then?”

“I don’t know, but it wasn’t us,” the officer replied. “Would you mind waiting here for a moment?”

“No, I don’t mind.” Jeff answered, shaking his head as he leaned against his car.

What is happening? Jeff thought as he rubbed his eyes. Nothing makes sense.

His hand moved to the amulet still around his neck, feeling for it without realizing. It reminded him of the note, which he pulled out of his pocket and in the flashing lights of the cop cars read the note again.

“I’m tired of this,” Jeff muttered as he pulled his phone out of his pocket and dialed the number for Mario.

“Hello?” A voice answered after half a ring.

“Mario?” Jeff asked.

“I need you to listen very carefully, Mr. Bezose. You can’t trust the people at your house right now. They will likely try to take you in, but you can’t go with them. Do you understand?” Mario replied.

“What is going on? I don’t understand any of this.” Jeff said.

“All will be made clear. I can come get you after they leave if you like and I will explain everything, but it is imperative you don’t go with them when they ask you to leave. They are members of the Order, do you understand?” Mario said.

“I don’t – I don’t know what’s going on,” Jeff said, “This is so overwhelming and confusing. Why me? Why you? Why them? What is the play? Why are people trying to get me?”

The line went dead.

“Is everything okay, Mr. Bezose?” the officer asked as he came out of the house.

“Just a little shaken from the break-in,” he lied, but couldn’t help notice that his hands were actually shaking.

“Would it be alright if you came with me down to the station? I need to get a statement from you about the break-in as well as descriptions of the people who were posing as police officers.” the officer said.

Jeff nodded before he could stop himself. He felt a knot tighten in his stomach as the officer led him back to the police car.

The officer opened the back door, “I have waters in the front, would you like one?”

“No, thank you,” Jeff replied, “could I-”

The door shut on him mid-sentence, cutting him off. He suddenly felt very tired, trying to speak as the world moved out of focus before turning black.

Read More


Part 1 – The Script

Part 2 – The Amulet

Part 3 – The Statue

2 thoughts on “Write One Page Per Day – 110/365 – April 20, 2018

Leave a comment